Question:

Are any of these ingredients derived from animals?

by  |  earlier

0 LIKES UnLike

Whole wheat flour, water, wheat gluten, high fructose corn syrup, contains 2% of less of: soybean oil, salt, molasses, yeast, mono and diglycerides, exthoxylated mono and diglycerides, dough conditioners (sodium stearoyl lactylate, calcium iodate, calcium dioxide), datem, calcium sulfate, vinegar, yeast nutrient (ammonium sulfate), extracts of malted barley and corn, dicalcium phosphate, diammonium phosphate, calcium propionate (to retain freshness).

Thank you for helping:)

 Tags:

   Report

4 ANSWERS


  1. its really hard to tell exactally but you never know with todays food.  high fructose corn syrup is the worst thing for you though.  increases your appatite and makes you fat.  i don't eat it too often.  not that hard to stay away from if you shop in the right places and eat right


  2. Unfortunately, it's impossible to tell. Some of these ingredients (calcium stearoyl lactylate, mono diglycerides, maybe others) can be derived from either plants or animals.


  3. Everything on your list seems safe for the Vegans. The only items that may be questionable are the Calcium compounds. The Calcium compounds can be obtained from processing bones. However, it is much cheaper to process stones than bones.

  4. If you are a true vegetarian, you should beware of these ingredients as being chemical based and possibly derived from animals. Here the list: mono and triglycerides, calcium propionate, calcium sulphate, ammonium sulphate, calcium iodate, calcium dioxide. These are all things to preserve freshness. Stay away from them including high sodium content.

Question Stats

Latest activity: earlier.
This question has 4 answers.

BECOME A GUIDE

Share your knowledge and help people by answering questions.
Unanswered Questions