Question:

Is margarine yeast vegan?

by  |  earlier

0 LIKES UnLike

I have some bread, and one of the ingredients is "margarine yeast". Is it vegan?

 Tags:

   Report

3 ANSWERS


  1. Yeasts are part of the fungi kingdom. They are not animals. Nutritional yeast (Saccharomyces cerevisiae) is different from torula, or brewer's yeast. It is grown on a molasses solution and comes in the form of flakes or powder. It has a cheese-like flavor and can be sprinkled on baked potatoes, popcorn, vegetables, and other foods. Therefore in the scientific context it is vegetarian.

    Most imitation cheeses are not vegan because they contain casein, which is derived from milk. "VeganRella" and "Soymage" are both vegan. When a product label states that a food product is "lactose free," it does not necessarily mean that it is free of dairy by-products. Similarly, if a label says "non-dairy," the food may still contain dairy by-products. Some coffee creamers and whipped toppings, for example, are marked "non-dairy" but contain casein.

    However…...

    In future, vegans evolve to be MICROBIAL and FRUITARIAN would abstain from yeast. Yeasts have asexual and sexual reproductive cycles, by budding or fission. They are fungi, not absolutely a “Plantae” (trees, herbs, bushes, grasses, vines, ferns, and mosses).


  2. that is definitely a typo... and I have to disagree with one of the other answerers - they are not both vegan.

    Yeast is vegan. Margarine, however, is usually not. Most margarines contain whey (milk component and protein) and some even contain gelatin. There are a couple of brands that make vegan margarine, but you wouldn't know what type is in the bread you have, unless it says so on the label.

  3. I think you are misreading that.  It probably says "margarine, yeast.....".  Yeast is vegan and so is margarine.

Question Stats

Latest activity: earlier.
This question has 3 answers.

BECOME A GUIDE

Share your knowledge and help people by answering questions.
Unanswered Questions